The Washington Running Club (WRC) was formed when runner members of the Washington Sports Club (WSC) split from that association in 1974. The WSC was placing increased emphasis on other sports and the running members decided that a club aimed solely on running was necessary.

The WRC and the WSC have been known among runners as elite distance running clubs in the Washington DC area. In the 1960s, 70s and early 80s an elite racing team would travel to racing events including national and world class cross country races (e.g., Scotland & Ireland) to compete. The team did well at these events. For example, in 1967, the club won 7 national championships.

Over the years, the club has had in its membership a number of talented national-class athletes. Some of note include Jack Fultz, George Malley, Henry O’Connell, Matt Wilson, Jeff Scuffins, Bruce Coldsmith, Jim Hage, Steve Spence, Terry Baker, Bernie Allen, Bruce Robinson, Will Albers, Walter Sargent, Mary Anne Dickerson, Laura DeWald, Patty McGovern, Darrell General, Jim Hage, Jay Jacob Wind, Gerry Ives, Naoko Ishibe, Casey Smith, Michael Wardian, and Dane Rauschenberg, among others. To see some of the outstanding marathon times run, check out the top club marathoners. The WRC has also had (and still has) numerous members who had been supreme high school and collegiate runners, been sponsored by running companies or running stores, and who have run very notable and competitive times.

While WRC has a tradition rooted in performance and competition, the club has runners of all abilities. Some are in their prime and running very fast times, some are maintaining their competitiveness and consistency, some are in the twilight of their careers, and lots of others fall somewhere in between.

Club Presidents Since the 1980s

Alfred tomFelde Award Recipients